Quit Smokeless Community
Sign in to follow this  
ICanDoThis

Hello from Colo

Hi there. Took a lot for me to actually register on this site, but I did and now I'm here writing, which is a good first step. I don't think I fit the typical chewer profile, but I'm hoping you'll help support me anyway! I'm a professional woman in my 40's whose husband does NOT chew. I'm very private about my dirty habit, and very few people in my life know.

Started chewing at 16, thanks to the men in my life at the time who also chewed: boyfriend, coaches & teachers. While I can't stand smoking (insanely hypocritical), I've been chewing on and off for close to 25 years. I've quit many times -- sometimes for several years, and I've tried the patch, the gum, cold Turkey, and Chantix, which is a crazy-maker. I've never tried an online support group like this, though.

Just last month, I was into my 67th day of being chew-free (was using the patch), and we found out a family member is terminally ill with only months to live. Upon receiving that news, I hopped into my car and drove to the first 7-11 I could find. Since then, guilt, self-loathing, and a frustrated spouse have motivated me to give this support community a shot and set a NEW AND FINAL quit date of October 30th.

I welcome any words of encouragement you may have. Thanks!

YES YOU CAN do this. Like many quitters on here I have my own opinion on how to quit, I am a professional guy in my late 40's, so I would suggest you read a lot on here and find someone that speaks to you and read their stuff. Frankly I found many who spoke to me, hopefully you will find the same. There are other females on here, so dont get to caught up in that, ndodge, mylilsecret, just to name a couple I know of. There is some trash talking, try to overlook it, many of us do not talk that way all the time, just when we are fighting for our lives, like you are. I am going to tell you what I think, take it, leave it, or use parts of it.