Quit Smokeless Community
Sign in to follow this  
higgey09

Today is the day - Kicking the old habit

First off, I want to thank everybody for creating such an awesome community in which we can support each other to end our dependency on this disgusting addictive crap. This is the best resource I have ever seen to aid in quitting chewing, and I will be using very often to get through it.

My name is Ben and I am from Plymouth, Minnesota. I am 20 years old and have been hooked on the skoal straight for just about 5 years now. I am currently a sophomore in college and own a landscaping business to pay for the whole scam. I started the business when I was 16 and now mow just about 110 lawns in the summer and snow plow about 30 accounts in the winter, so stress levels are often high with school, too. Chew has been a huge part of my life and it seems it is the only way to get through the day. I go through at least a tin a day, so its also an expensive habit.

I have tried to quit multiple times in the past 2 years, but no luck. I have recently been cutting back daily and starting today, 01/24/2011, I am going COLD TURKEY. My personal relationships, my health, and who knows what else have been affected by chew.. AND I AM DONE. I am quitting while I still have a nice set of teeth and a fully functionable mouth and jaw.

Any support would be awesome, as this first week is going to be hell, but I am done with this crap, I don't care if I have to sit on this website all day, my good health and peace of mind are worth anything.

Thanks in advance for any support!

Ben

Way to go Ben! I quit exactly 5 days ago and the next 3 days of your life will be miserable but don't make excuses for yourself, just don't dip!!!. I'm feeling better today than yesterday and hope to totally forget about this crap by this time next year. I'm going cold turkey also...

Best of luck!