Quit Smokeless Community
Sign in to follow this  
Copper

Guns

I have been thinking for awhile that it would be nice to have a gun thread on here. Recently, a couple of other members have stated an interest in shooting sports.

If you are interested in guns for protection, hunting or just as a hobby, post up.

When I have some more time, I will download some of my most favorite guns and I look forward to seeing some of yours.

I am an armorer and firearms instructor for my department, so if you have any gun related questions, I'll try my best to answer them.

Even though it's not mine, this is one of my favorite photos.

This is a real Auto Ordinance Thompson sub machine gun (Tommy gun).

We got a call from a lady who said someone was shooting automatic weapons near her house. I believed that someone was just out target shooting with a semi-automatic, but went on the call anyway (not illegal to shoot a gun outside of the city limits)

I arrived and found a couple of guys shooting the Tommy gun. As soon as one saw me, he quickly got out his class 3 license (to own an automatic weapon) and driver's license. Turns out, his great grandfather had this from WW2.

It had just been appraised at $17,000.

I suppose they saw the look of envy in my eyes, and the owner said, "Wanna shoot it"?

It wasn't long until everyone from my shift was out there shooting that gun and getting pictures made with it.

One of the best calls I have been on in 15 years.

Here's the picture of me shooting it: (That was 5 years ago before the dip free weight hit me B) )

Thompson.jpg

Copper,

I didn't know there was such a thing as a class 3 license. I guess you learn something new every day.

I got the Glock 21SF. I had read about the regular 21 being a little bulky for some people with smaller hands so I'm hoping my wife will be able to handle the SF. She has pretty big hands for a woman and is 5-10, so we'll see.