Quit Smokeless Community
Sign in to follow this  
tm-va

Hall of Fame speech

All I know and remember is it was the fall of 1987 the first time I tried a dip and I did not stop until August 31, 2009. I did not stop for almost 22 years. Over the course of that time I had many failed (actually I would have to say half-hearted in retrospect) attempts to quit dipping. For example, when I graduated college, when I went to law school, when I got engaged, when I got married, passed the bar exam, the birth of my 3 children, and the list goes on and on. I tried quitting when my wife asked me to when oldest child was 2 and just before my middle child was born. Did not work. I simply became more ninja about the dipping and continued on (for example, only when driving alone; coming up with errands to run on almost a nightly basis so I could drive and dip; buying bacc off or smokey mountain, dumping the contents and putting in cope or grizzly so I could do it when driving with my wife or kids, etc.).